I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

Last night, I saw this post: The Most Important Life Lesson Older People Want Younger Ones To Know.

How timely. I spent the past week with relatives from Canada, and it has made me question (not for the first time) what it is I really want to do with my life. One of my cousins, who we’d known all along would go into the food and beverage industry, is now a sous chef and is gearing towards becoming an executive chef soon. Had they stayed here, he might not have made his dream into a reality – or at least not as easily as how it actually happened. As I listened to him talk about the hard work and discipline that went into the past seven years, I also sensed the passion and happiness he got out of it despite the pressure and the long hours. I was genuinely happy for him because he was doing what he’d always wanted to do. Not a lot of people can say the same.

Like me, for instance. I was once again I was reminded of the fact that I am not exactly where I want to be (not that I know where that is). Well, okay, it’s not that I have no idea. I’ve eventually come to terms with the fact that my interests lean towards literature, languages and history. But this realization only became concrete in the past year or so. Come to think of it, those have always been my interests, even back in high school. I just never thought of them as options to shape a career out of.

Also, I want to be rich, and I sure as hell am not getting there in my current job, nor through my interests alone. So, business has to be thrown somewhere in the mix. When the money starts rolling in, then I can finally start pursuing my true interests. For now, I’ll just have to suck it up and roll with the punches. It’s not easy having to convince yourself to like what you do, and it gets sad at times. But I’m still luckier than most, and for that I am thankful.

I do hope you all are having better luck pursuing your dreams than I am. 😉

Title of the post is the song by U2 and, incidentally, the theme song of my life.

Leave a Reply

